Battle Cry for Lok Sabha General Elections Begins!

( Read 2240 Times)

27 Mar, 24 09:32
Share |
Print This Page

Battle Cry for Lok Sabha General Elections Begins!

India gears up for the grand festival of the world's largest democracy as the Election Commission announces the dates for the Lok Sabha elections. The elections will be conducted in seven phases from April 19 to June 1, 2024, with two phases scheduled for Rajasthan. Vote counting will take place on June 4, and the election results will be declared. A new central government will be formed before June 16.

New Delhi: It's time to kickstart the battle for the Lok Sabha general elections! India is now set for the grand festival of the world's largest democracy. The Election Commission of India has unveiled the election dates for the 543 seats of the 18th Lok Sabha. The voting process will span across seven phases from April 19 to June 1, 2024, with the vote count scheduled for June 4. Notably, the tenure of the 17th Lok Sabha is concluding on June 16, paving the way for the formation of a new Lok Sabha as per regulations.

In addition to the Lok Sabha elections, the Election Commission has also announced the dates for assembly elections in four states: Sikkim, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, and Andhra Pradesh. Furthermore, by-elections for 26 assembly seats in various states will also be conducted concurrently. With the announcement of the Lok Sabha elections, the Model Code of Conduct comes into effect nationwide from Saturday.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, along with newly appointed Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, announced the 46-day election schedule for the Lok Sabha elections in a significant press conference held at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. The first phase of Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan will take place on April 19, followed by the second phase on April 26. Additionally, a by-election will be held for the Bagidaura assembly seat in the tribal-dominated Banswara district of southern Rajasthan.

In the first phase of Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan, voting will occur across 12 seats, including Jaipur City, Jaipur Rural, Bikaner, Sriganganagar, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli Dholpur, and Dausa. The second phase, scheduled for April 26, will cover 13 Lok Sabha seats in the state, including Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Pali, Rajsamand, Ajmer, Bhilwara, Chittorgarh, Udaipur, Banswara-Dungarpur, Kota, Tonk-Sawaimadhopur, and Jhalawar-Bandra.

Voting across 22 states will be held in a single phase, while Rajasthan, Karnataka, Tripura, and Manipur will witness two phases. Chhattisgarh and Assam will have three phases, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, and Jharkhand will see four phases, Maharashtra and Jammu and Kashmir will have two phases, and Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and West Bengal will have seven phases each.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar highlighted that a total of 97 crore 88 lakh 21926 voters will participate in the Lok Sabha elections, with around 2 crore new voters aged 18 to 29 joining the electoral rolls. The number of registered voters has increased by 6 percent compared to 2019, with a gender ratio improvement from 940 in 2023 to 948 in 2024.

Preparations for the elections are in full swing, with 10.5 lakh polling booths established across the country. Approximately 1.5 crore polling officers will be deployed, and 55 lakh EVM machines will be utilized for voting. Chief Election Commissioner emphasized the importance of every vote in shaping the nation's future, with special arrangements made for physically challenged individuals and elderly voters above 85 years of age to cast their votes from home.

Furthermore, measures have been implemented to combat issues like muscle power, money power, misinformation, and violations of the Model Code of Conduct. The Election Commission aims for violence-free elections, with drones monitoring international borders and strict actions against the misuse of money. The Chief Election Commissioner called for increased voter turnout and urged the media and voters to cooperate in motivating everyone to vote.

Amidst discussions on EVMs, the Chief Election Commissioner emphasized accountability and urged political parties to maintain decorum and avoid personal attacks in speeches. He concluded with poetic verses, emphasizing the significance of democracy and the responsibility of every citizen in shaping the nation's destiny.

The Election Commission's proactive measures and meticulous planning reflect its commitment to conducting transparent and fair elections, ensuring the democratic essence of the country's electoral process. As India gears up for the Lok Sabha elections, the world watches with anticipation, recognizing this democratic celebration as the pride of the nation.

Source :

यह खबर निम्न श्रेणियों पर भी है: National News
Your Comments ! Share Your Openion